Blogiversary, Author ID numbers and Master’s programs

One year ago today I started this blog and what a wild year its been. I’ve largely been too busy to think about blogging lately but maybe the blogiversary will reinvigorate my blogging efforts…

In that vein, two articles of interest pop out in the latest issue of Science.

1) A call for universal author ID numbers and the difficulty in figuring out how to do it. I think this is a super idea but I understand why it would be very difficult to implement. I thoroughly enjoy perusing the publishing history of my colleagues, seminar speakers and interviewees but this process is becoming next to impossible for authors unless they have the most obscure of names. I think this would be a great tool for all of us that would be increasingly appreciated as time continues to pass (and the pace of publishing continues to increase). Hence, I volunteer to assign myself number 5, in honor of the great George Brett.

2) An article calling for expansion of professional Master’s Science Degrees. I also think that this is a great idea and that Universities should also consider these programs for retraining for workers in areas where job growth is shrinking and can be expected to remain that way for the foreseeable future. While community colleges and vocational schools offer many programs for retraining I think that it would wise to begin to offer more advanced programs for those that really want to expand into new, advanced areas but on an expedited schedule. In other words, a PhD may take too long for a 45 year old who wants to acquire new skills for a new career in the energy industry, for instance. This is how you rebuild economies, me thinks.

11 responses to “Blogiversary, Author ID numbers and Master’s programs

  1. Happy Blogoversary!

    Unique author names are important, and seem basically doable. It is especially important for people with non-western names.

  2. Happy Blogiversary!

    I’d like to be number 8129728.

  3. One of the real innovators who pushed the Professional Science Masters is right there with you in Tuscon, Shiela Tobias. http://sheilatobias.com/ While she has extensively worked to improve science education in the last 30+ years, she might be better known for being one of the founders of the National Organization for Women.

  4. happy blogiversary JP!!! keep it coming…

  5. Happy blogiversary! Best of luck finding the time to post more!

    I totally agree on the author ID. I’m not the only AE Brown so I use AEX Brown which is unique as far as I can tell. Unfortunately, PubMed seems to drop the third initial. At least it works for Web of Science and Google Scholar…

    I really want a universal standard. We should have something like DOIs for people.

  6. Happy Blogiversary- It has been awesome reading!!

  7. I had a pretty unique name, but then, someone new appeared in science, with the same last name (same spelling) and the same first initial. And, on top of that, they are a prolific publisher (in a field with a much higher publication rate, lots of multi-author publications, from another country). So, my name keeps getting bumped from the top of the list. Eeks, and now they’re publishing with someone who uses my first name as their last name.

    So, I’m all for a unique author identifier. I thought my name was going to do it (I’m extremely google-able). But, unfortunately, all it takes is one other person, and you’re no longer unique!

  8. Yeah, if we could just pick our own numbers it’d be awesome. I’m wavering betweeen 8675309 and 24601.

  9. Dibs 1337!!!!

  10. Почему это вдруг вот так? Размышляю, почему не расширить данную гипотезу.

  11. А почему вот только так? Размышляю, как нам прояснить этот обзор.

Leave a Reply

