On dressing

No, not stuffing! Dr Isis has a post up about the personal choices of fashion, gender stereotypes and what they mean for your role modelness. Well, that’s my interpretation. She concludes, to my reading, that dressing, dresses and shoes have nothing to do with anything other than what you like to wear. I concur.

First off, I don’t particularly like Isis’s taste in shoes. Not that I don’t like heels, I just think the heels she likes are a tad flashy for my taste. But that preference is completely in the abstract (in other words, I don’t like the pictures). On the other hand, if Isis came into my office and I saw those shoes on her, I would probably think they were all that. Why? Because she would demonstrate through the way she carries herself in those shoes that they were indeed all that. I’m sure she would convince me. Likewise, Isis may not like my colorful socks all by themselves. However, I’m sure she would love them if she saw how fabulous they looked paired with a nice pinstriped suit, a subdued tie and some Tod’s drivers.

Isis says:

I find certain things to be beautiful and they may not be the same things that you do.

And I would guess that another thing she finds beautiful is herself in those clothes and shoes. I’m no different. I look at clothes and shoes as if they were art. When I go to bed at night I think about what I will wear tomorrow. I think about what part of my personality I want to portray through my appearance the next day. I don’t give a shit if anyone thinks I look like something I shouldn’t be on that day. I would imagine that Isis gives less of a shit. The thing that matters is that you are comfortable in what you wear. If you could care less about your clothes, more power to you, I bet you have some extra cash that I don’t have. If you want to look like you walked out of a magazine everyday, great. There is nothing wrong with anyone’s personal preference when it comes to their daily appearance and any societal constructs that get in your way of being the person you want to be are bunk, as far as I am concerned.

In closing, it is my opinion that we should celebrate our differences in self expression through all of its varieties of daily forms. Efforts to tear people down based on their lifestyle choices or whether or not they resemble the role-model another would like them to be are energies best spent on your own personal creativity and individuality. And I’m gonna wear my super-colorful striped socks tomorrow, with loafers, shorts and a sports coat (well maybe not tomorrow, it might be too cold)!

9 responses to “On dressing

  1. Amen, JuniorProf!!! A-freakin-men!

  2. JP- I’m with you all the way- you should wear what you love wearing and feel comfortable and confident in.

    I start having a problem is when I feel as though people are looking down on those perceived to be less fashionable, less ‘hot’ or whatever. I’ve never heard you do this, and I’m certain you would not. I have seen it elsewhere and I dislike this very much, it’s just unnecessary.

    If crocs float your boat, wear them. If Cole-Haan blows your skirt up- I’m great with that. But why people who wear the Cole-Haans need to heckle people who wear crocs is beyond me.

  3. Looking down on anyone for any reason is certainly uncool. As adults we need to reinforce this whenever possible because the tendency to do this is generally developed during the teenage years (but you know this already). In my view there is a very real difference between those who dress a certain way to feel secure or to make up for insecurities and those that dress a certain way because they enjoy it or are comfortable with it. If we put less pressure on people to fit societal norms and just let them express themselves freely without criticism or judgements I bet there would be fewer insecurities.

  4. When I go to bed at night I think about what I will wear tomorrow.

    When I go to bed at night, I think about not puking. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!!!!

  5. That’s some funny shit dude, i gotta admit.

  6. JP- I agree completely.

    ‘In my view there is a very real difference between those who dress a certain way to feel secure or to make up for insecurities and those that dress a certain way because they enjoy it or are comfortable with it.’

    This resonates with me. I think cutting people down for what they wear is all about the insecurity of the person doing the cutting.

    I suppose that you’ve probably noticed that I haven’t said a single word anywhere, on any blog about what I wear to work. I may wear crocs, I may wear heels, I may wear something in between. But- I’m not trying to impress anyone- I dress as I do because it works for me.

    And I love it that colorful socks work for you!!

  7. Pingback: No, not this again… « Blue Lab Coats

  8. JP I generally agree. But what about when it comes to giving talks? Is there not a point at which one’s appearance can distract from the scientific message one is trying to get across?

  9. Hey, I got linked to your blog, but its quite different from mine. But, I really like yours! I think your writing style is amazing.

    Mines about fun stuff and pictures to give you a break and make you laugh.

    You should check it out at AyyYouu.wordpress.com
    its worth a minute of your time, you might be suprised.

Leave a Reply

