In which Juniorprof shows that he is a movie junkie

The movie mania meme is making the rounds and I’ve decided to play. I’m a real movie junkie so this is gonna get a bit out of control, I fear. My minor in college was film criticism (bet you didn’t know you could get a minor in that did ‘ya) and I have two old high school buddies who are now hollywood directors: one quite famous for mainstream films and another well known in the gore-fest niche. Let’s get started:

(x) Rocky Horror Picture Show
(x) Grease
(x) Pirates of the Caribbean
(x) Pirates of the Caribbean 2: Dead Man’s Chest
(x) Boondock Saints
(x) Fight Club
( ) Starsky and Hutch
(x) Neverending Story
(x) Blazing Saddles [excuse me while I whip this out]
(x) Universal Soldier
( ) Lemony Snicket: A Series Of Unfortunate Events
( ) Along Came Polly
(x) Joe Dirt
(x) KING KONG
Total so far: 11

( ) A Cinderella Story
(x) The Terminal
( ) The Lizzie McGuire Movie
( ) Passport to Paris
(x) Dumb & Dumber
( ) Dumber & Dumberer
(x) Final Destination
( ) Final Destination 2
( ) Final Destination 3
(x) Halloween
(x) The Ring
(x) The Ring 2
( ) Surviving -MAS
( ) Flubber (orignal only)
Total so far: 17

( ) Harold & Kumar Go To White Castle
( ) Practical Magic
(x) Chicago [I can watch this one over and over]
(x) Ghost Ship
(x) From Hell
(x) Hellboy
( ) Secret Window
(x) I Am Sam [a beautiful movie, Sean Penn and Michelle Pfeiffer at their best]
(x) The Whole Nine Yards
( ) The Whole Ten Yards
Total so far: 23

(x) The Day After Tomorrow
(x) Child’s Play
( ) Seed of Chucky
(x) Bride of Chucky
( ) Ten Things I Hate About You
( ) Just Married
(x) Gothika
(x) Nightmare on Elm Street
(x) Sixteen Candles
(x) Remember the Titans
(x) Coach Carter
( ) The Grudge
( ) The Grudge 2
(x) The Mask
(x) Son Of The Mask
Total so far: 33

(x) Bad Boys
(x) Bad Boys 2
( ) Joy Ride
(x) Lucky Number Sleven
(x) Ocean’s Eleven
(x) Ocean’s Twelve
(x) Bourne Identity [these movies are just too good, tightest story lines around]
(x) Bourne Supremacy
(x) Lone Star
( ) Bedazzled (original only)
(x) Predator I
(x) Predator II
( ) The Fog
( ) Ice Age
( ) Ice Age 2: The Meltdown
(x) Curious George
Total so far: 44

(x) Independence Day
(x) Cujo
(x) A Bronx Tale
(x) Darkness Falls
(x) Christine
(x) ET
(x) Children of the Corn
( ) My Bosses Daughter
( ) Maid in Manhattan
(x) War of the Worlds
(x) Rush Hour
(x) Rush Hour 2
Total so far: 54

( ) Best Bet
( ) How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days
( ) She’s All That
( ) Calendar Girls
(x) Sideways
(x) Mars Attacks
(x) Event Horizon
( ) Ever After
(x) Wizard of Oz
(x) Forrest Gump
(x) Big Trouble in Little China
(x) The Terminator
(x) The Terminator 2
(x) The Terminator 3
Total so far: 63

(x) X-Men
(x) X2
(x) X-3
(x) Spider-Man
(x) Spider-Man 2
( ) Sky High
( ) Jeepers Creepers
( ) Jeepers Creepers 2
(x) Catch Me If You Can
(x) The Little Mermaid
( ) Freaky Friday (original only)
( ) Reign of Fire
( ) The Skulls
( ) Cruel Intentions
( ) Cruel Intentions 2
( ) The Hot Chick
(x) Shrek
(x) Shrek 2
Total so far: 72

(x) Swimfan
(x) Miracle on 34th street
(x) Old School
( ) The Notebook
( ) K-Pax
( ) Kippendorf’s Tribe
(x) A Walk to Remember
( ) Ice Castles
(x) Boogeyman
(x) The 40-year-old-virgin
Total so far: 78

(x) Lord of the Rings Fellowship of the Ring
(x) Lord of the Rings The Two Towers
(x) Lord of the Rings Return Of the King
(x) Indiana Jones and the Raiders of the Lost Ark
(x) Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom
(x) Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade
Total so far: 84

( ) Baseketball
(x) Hostel [scary stuff, if you ask me]
( ) Waiting for Guffman
( ) House of 1000 Corpses
(x) Devils Rejects
(x) Elf
(x) Highlander
(x) Mothman Prophecies
(x) American History
( ) Three
Total so Far: 90

( ) The Jacket
(x) Kung Fu Hustle
( ) Shaolin Soccer
( ) Night Watch
(x) Monsters Inc.
(x) Titanic
(x) Monty Python and the Holy Grail
(x) Shaun Of the Dead
(x) Willard
Total so far: 96

( ) High Tension
( ) Club Dread
(x) Hulk
(x) Dawn of the Dead
(x) Hook
(x) Chronicle Of Narnia The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe
(x) 28 days later [My favorite movie of the last decade]
( ) Orgazmo
(x) Phantasm
(x) Waterworld
Total so far: 103

(x) Kill Bill vol 1
(x) Kill Bill vol 2
(x) Mortal Kombat
( ) Wolf Creek
(x) Kingdom of Heaven
( ) the Hills Have Eyes
( ) I Spit on Your Grave aka the Day of the Woman
( ) The Last House on the Left
(x) Re-Animator
(x) Army of Darkness [Classic Bruce Campbell]
Total so far: 109

(x) Star Wars Ep. I The Phantom Menace
(x) Star Wars Ep. II Attack of the Clones
(x) Star Wars Ep. III Revenge of the Sith
(x) Star Wars Ep. IV A New Hope [first movie I ever saw in a theatre]
(x) Star Wars Ep. V The Empire Strikes Back [I agree with Nat and Dante, this is the best]
(x) Star Wars Ep. VI Return of the Jedi
( ) Ewoks Caravan Of Courage
( ) Ewoks The Battle For Endor
Total so far: 115

(x) The Matrix
(x) The Matrix Reloaded
(x) The Matrix Revolutions
( ) Animatrix
(x) Evil Dead [more classic Bruce Campbell]
(x) Evil Dead 2 [even more Bruce Campbell]
(x) Team America: World Police
(x) Red Dragon
(x) Silence of the Lambs
(x) Hannibal
Total so far: 124

( ) Battle Royale
( ) Battle Royale 2
(x) Brazil
(x) Contact
(x) Cube [truly great movie, see it!!]
(x) Dr. Strangelove [wrote my minor thesis on this one]
( ) Enlightenment Guaranteed
(x) Four Rooms
(x) Memento
(x) Pi [another all time fav]
(x) Requiem for a Dream [most depressing movie ever]
(x) Pulp Fiction
(x) Reservoir Dogs [i hate this movie. violence for the sake of violence. disgusting]
(x) Run Lola Run
( ) Russian Ark
(x) Serenity
(x) Sin City
(x) Snatch
( ) Spider
(x) The Sixth Sense
(x) The Village
( ) Waking Life
( ) Zatoichi
( ) Ikiru
(x) The Seven Samurai
( ) Brick
(x) Akira
Total so far: 142

I guess this means I have no life…

20 responses to “In which Juniorprof shows that he is a movie junkie

  1. Pingback: movie madness « the path forward

  2. Dude, I swear, you are my long lost twin brother. Movie junkie-ism is just one more thing we have in common!!

    Have you seen ‘Vantage Point’?

  3. fun! who knew there were other science nerds who were also movie nerds? i tried it out, too.
    http://lalaleigha.wordpress.com/2008/12/26/movie-madness/

  4. DrdrA, could be, could very well be. However, I have not seen Vantage Point, but I would like to. Might go rent it this week, in fact. I assume its good?

  5. I guess this means I have no life…

    Or it means you never sleep. I’m guessing the latter.

    I think it’s tragic that 28 Days Later is your favorite movie of the last decade. Seriously. That movie made me so sad– on the floor with a box of Kleenex sad. But you get points for having seen Neverending Story and for recognizing the quality of the Jason Bourne series.

  6. Dunno, JP, hard to take you seriously as a critic when you’ve skipped the Lizzie McGuire story. What next, no Princess Diaries?

    I doubt that I have watched 142 movies in my lifetime, let alone from that list.

  7. Juniper, and why were you on the floor crying with 28 Days later? Surely not because the characters were charismatic. I’d imagine it was because the film did such a great job of sucking you into the hopelessness and desperation of the moment(s) that you could no longer control your emotions (even though you know it cannot be real). That’s what I so deeply appreciate about that movie — and I have the same reaction that you had with that movie. I should clarify, its my favorite but not neccessarily the most enjoyable to watch. That would have to go to the Bourne series. In fact, I watched the last half of Bourne 3 last night on HBO. Still awesome. And Neverending Story was great, we used to watch that on “break days” when I was in elementary school.

  8. I doubt that I have watched 142 movies in my lifetime, let alone from that list.
    I’m sorry Dr.J, that’s not possible.

  9. I didn’t see “My Cousin Vinny” on that list. Watched it again last night–pure genius:
    http://www.mudphudder.com/2008/12/homage-to-my-cousin-vinny/
    Probably obvious by now that I *didn’t* minor in film criticism. Or have any taste in movies either perhaps…

  10. Well, if you’re asking me, I agree that “My Cousin Vinny” is a classic. The Two Utes!

  11. juniorprof- We watched ‘vantage point’ the other night and we both liked it. Last night we watched David Lynch’s ‘Mulholland Drive’ – I haven’t finished it yet, but it’s classic David Lynch.

    Oh and mudphudder- I LOVE ‘my cousin vinny’ I’ve watched it twice in the last 2 days- there are so many classic lines in that movie!

  12. I should clarify, its my favorite but not neccessarily the most enjoyable to watch.

    I’m glad to hear you’re not a sadist, Juniorprof.

  13. d00d, you check off all that big-budg action schlock which features a bazillion acts of sanitized, anonymized violent mayhem and you don’t get Reservoir Dogs? Are you totally sure you minored in film crit?

    Tell me that you grasped Fargo? and Pulp Fiction? …please?

  14. Juniorprof–did you say Ute? What is a Ute?

  15. That’s just my spelling of how Joe Pesci says “the two youths” in the early courtroom scene.

  16. Juniorprof–you’re letting me down! Or maybe it was a poor effort on my part to quote the judge in that scene…
    :-)
    Classic scene.
    Happy new year!

  17. No Jim Jarmush films?????

    Also since 28 days later is your “favorite movie of the last decade”, do you own Godspeed You Black Emperor’s album “F♯A♯ infinty”? It includes “East Hastings”, the song that aparently inspired this movie (and also serves as the soundtrack for the first part of the film).

  18. No Jim Jarmush films?????
    Well, I didn’t make the list but Coffee and CIgarrettes would be a good addition. And thanks for the heads up on Godspeed you Black Emperor, I did not know that. Just bought the album on iTunes… I have some Mugwai stuff and have seen Explosions in the Sky in Austin, sounds like they are similar (at least from the “other bought function”). I’m listening now, sounds great so far!

  19. BTW, Alex, if you like this sort of music, do you have any Sigur Ros or Mum? Both very good, and somewhat similar. Also, when I hear this kind of music I always wonder what their influences are and whether some of their inspiration comes from Steve Reich’s phases. I don’t know why, but I always think I hear some Steve Reich in there.

  20. I saw Sigur Ros at Radio City Music Hall, it was one of the most incredible experiences I’ve ever had. I’ll have to check out Mum.

    I wasn’t too crazy about C&C. My favorite Jarmusch film was Dead Man, which has the greatest soundtrack EVAH (a long continuous improv by Neil Young). Down by Law and Night on Earth are great too.

Leave a Reply

