Last night’s GOP convention

I must be the most naive punk on the block. Here I was, going about my happy little life thinking that the culture wars were mostly over (see what living in Canada does to you) and that this election would actually be about ideas. Boy was I wrong! The culture wars are alive and well…

Suddenly I remembered what I had tried so hard to forget, the alienation and hatred you feel all around you when you’re an atheist living in the bible belt. The sinking feeling you get everytime you hear that a certain war is a crusade or a mission from god with the knowledge of what those words really mean — never-ending war. Those thoughts of the future where your slightly tanner than you children will be targets of mindless fear of the other. A nation where the people that I’ve seen do so much for those less fortunate (yes, the community organizers) are openly mocked.

And the main stream media sits back and does nothing. A “grand slam”, “homerun” and “red-meat”. Try bigotry, fear and hate.

So, GOP, thanks for last night. I saw your vision of the future, vomited and am ready to fight.

11 responses to “Last night’s GOP convention

  1. Juniorprof-

    As a fellow atheist living in the bible belt- to borrow a phrase- I feel your pain. I do not worry about myself so much as I worry about the utter nonsense that my two daughters hear in school. During the last election my 6 year old asked me on the way to school if Mr. Kerry kills infants…. I had to ask her to repeat the question 3 times before I could ultimately believe that she was asking me this.

    The small minded mean-ness that is displayed is sickening, I agree.

    We must take nothing for granted for the next 60 days.

  2. We must take nothing for granted for the next 60 days.

    Those are the words I was looking for, thanks for finding them…

    Scary story with the kiddo. How did you respond? Can’t imagine what I would say (but I could imagine immediately being the mortal enemy of the entire PTA).

  3. There were quite a few vomit-worthy moments from Backwoods Barbie’s speech. I was specifically nauseated by the overwhelmingly positive reaction to the assertion that Obama is less interested in finding terrorists than he is in “reading them their rights”; by the outright lies about Obama’s legislative record; by the pedestal-putting of her enlisted son while skimming over her pregnant 17-year old daughter (yeah, I’m sure you’re equally proud of them both)…

    I could go on.

  4. There were quite a few vomit-worthy moments from Backwoods Barbie’s speech. I was specifically nauseated by the overwhelmingly positive reaction to the assertion that Obama is less interested in finding terrorists than he is in “reading them their rights”; by the outright lies about Obama’s legislative record; by the pedestal-putting of her enlisted son while skimming over her pregnant 17-year old daughter (yeah, I’m sure you’re equally proud of them both)…

    I could go on. It’s really, really horrifying.

  5. Hrm, looks like a double-click on the submit button there..

  6. You guys sound like you’re surprised. I expected nothing different from the republicans.

  7. My favorite comments in reaction to last night’s speech are from John Hodgman, via Twitter:

    “Thanks Sarah Palin. I briefly forgot that in America, we’re all supposed to hate one another.”

    “Also, thanks Sarah Palin. Before tonight, I didn’t realize that community service was purely for elite homos.”

    http://twitter.com/hodgman

  8. ‘We must take nothing for granted for the next 60 days.’

    I’ve been telling this (on a daily basis) to all my friends that live in Ohio.

    As for my daughter- I couldn’t believe my #!@??ing ears when she said that in the back of the car. She even had to explain what she meant by infants (you know mom- babies in the hospital, she said) because I was SURE I was mistaken about what I was hearing from the back seat. I assured her that this was not the case, obviously. She is now 10 and doesn’t take guff off of anyone- and doesn’t believe all this stuff about god.

    I’m thrilled (and at times stymied by) at her independent spirit…

  9. I can’t bear to watch that convention garbage. It is a circus…a repulsive disgusting circus.

  10. Here I was, going about my happy little life thinking that the culture wars were mostly over (see what living in Canada does to you) and that this election would actually be about ideas.

    Dude, put down the motherfucking crack pipe!

  11. “Thanks Sarah Palin. I briefly forgot that in America, we’re all supposed to hate one another.”

    You can’t imagine how real this feels when you’re one of the “other americans”. I was all set to respect Sarah Palin as a fellow mother (mind you, not her politics, but personally, as a woman who is trying to live out a life filled with both family and the world). But, then she stood up at the convention and mocked me and mine as the basis of her candidacy.

    Yes, don’t take anything for granted in the next 60 days.

Leave a Reply

