Daily Archives: May 25, 2008

Phoenix has Landed!!

Today is quite possibly the biggest day in the history of The University of Arizona, which may or may not be may place of work :-). The Phoenix Mars Mission has successfully landed on Mars!!! Congrats to all my colleagues over in the space-sciences, physics, engineering and optics departments on a job well done. Now the real fun can begin!!

Looks like there is a party in the street outside my office window… perhaps now would be a good time to stop writing that grant.

Update: Now with images of Mars. It looks like Phoenix will be analyzing ice soon.

Memorial Day… my grandpa and WWII

On this Memorial Day weekend I’d like to tell you a bit about my grandpa and World War II. I have been reminded many times of late that there are fewer and fewer former soldiers of WWII still alive. I am one of those lucky grandchildren who still has his grandfather (and grandmother) alive and well and still working on the farm well into his 90’s. My grandpa has always been willing to share stories about nearly every aspect of his life. The one exception is WWII; however, there have been a few times when he was willing to talk about his experience in the Pacific during those years. Since the start of the Iraq war those occasions have become more frequent as he has clearly felt the need to share with his family the horror that is war. Continue reading