Juniorprof is going to Cayman…

Every two years my little subfield, the pain world, gets together on Grand Cayman island for the Spring Pain Research Conference. As you might imagine, this is just about my favorite conference (and it takes the cake for Mrs Juniorprof). Not only is the conference held in paradise, but the format of the conference is just about perfect for networking and jump-starting collaborations. The meeting itself is in the morning, 8-1, and the rest of the day is free for hanging at the beach, having some rum-based drinks and talking about cutting edge science with most of the leaders in the field.

This will be my 3rd time to go to this conference. The previous times I was either a grad student or a postdoc. This time I’m the junior PI on the scene and I’ll be presenting some work from my postdoc with a bit of data from the new lab sprinkled in here and there. Since this will be the first opportunity to talk about work that is ongoing in “my lab” I am very excited to get there and start waving the flag for the juniorprof lab. This is also a great networking opportunity. At previous meetings I frequently had the opportunity to talk about possible collaborations with other researchers but I was never in the position to be able to pull the trigger on doing such work. Its all different now and I am excited to create some opportunities for the lab through my networking activities at the conference.

Finally, I’m considering “live-blogging” the conference. The question is, dear readers, do you have any interest in reading about what’s new and exciting in the pain research field on this here blog? If so, I’ll see what I can do… if not, I’ll just tell you how nice the sand feels between my toes and post some pics of little fishies.

7 responses to “Juniorprof is going to Cayman…

  1. Of course we want to hear about pain research! However, considering that the weather has significantly improved here in the Great White North, I for one am less in need of pics of fishies and beaches…

  2. Dude, bout time you showed up around here!! I’ve noticed that its getting a bit warm up there. Warm enough to melt 4 meters of snow?

  3. The heat has melted Montreal’s snow and boiled Canadiens hockey fans brains…
    Since those are the only things on the news here, except for Barack and Hillary, please tell us what’s going on in the Caymans!!

  4. Sounds like a ‘grand’ time … and have fun sitting at the grown-ups table… it’s such an odd feeling but it’s really awesome!

  5. Finally, I’m considering “live-blogging” the conference. The question is, dear readers, do you have any interest in reading about what’s new and exciting in the pain research field on this here blog?

    Hell yes! As both an imminent post-doc and a chronic pain-ee this would be incredibly interesting. I know virtually nothing about any of the topics but all are appealing.

  6. Oh yes, please do live-blog the event! It would be great for people who can’t go!

Leave a Reply

