Get the Real Stuff (another fashion post)

The other night Mrs Juniorprof and I watched Illicit: the Dark Trade on our favorite channel, PBS. One of the major themes of the show was how fake handbags are tied into the organized crime business in ways that many of us could never imagine. Ever been to China Town in NYC to get a cheap LV pursue. Don’t do it, your money is going to support all kinds of terrible things, but you probably figured that would be the case. Either way, no one around here would dream of doing such a thing!

So, aside from the dark side of this business, it got me thinking… what is the major difference between rip-offs and the real thing. Well, this is obvious, quality. Are they worth the money? Maybe yes, maybe no, depends on what you expect by buying some pieces from a top designer. An Armani or Canali suit, for instance, can feel so good on that you want to wear it all the time. Then again, one a thousand bucks cheaper can look and feel just as nice. A good deal of the business that the big houses get is from the fashion victim. I know, I’m a recovering fashionista. In this case, that D&G outfit sure might look fab but its not any better quality than what you’d find anywhere else, its just the design and the name. But heck, buy if you like, I sure as shit did!

So what’s the point? One thing I have consistently noticed is that some designers make shoes that put all the rest to shame. Case in point, Prada. I’ve got a couple pair of Prada shoes that I paid way too much for. But you know what, I’ve had them for years (one for almost ten), they still look two days old and when I wear ’em I’m sure there are little elves in there massaging my feet. So, yes, I’m a recovering fashion victim and I still fall prey to my old addiction from time to time but one thing I’ll never get over is a real pair of Prada shoes. Worth the money everytime!

Yes, PP, I know I’m ruining my blog.

7 responses to “Get the Real Stuff (another fashion post)

  1. Is this confessions of PBS lovers… did you by chance see the Frontline episode ‘Sick around the world’ I think it was called (last Monday or Tuesday)… a real eye opener about our ‘glorious’ healthcare system…

    I’m glad I’m not the only one discussing my favorite PBS program these days…

  2. Yeah, I did see it. It was well done and I learned a lot, but where was Canada?!?!? The Dems should show that program during the convention, might actually get some attention that way.

    Seriously though, I could blog about PBS all day and I’d just be preaching to the choir. Too bad more people don’t watch it, it’d be a better country. For instance, if other news programs had the guts to run the “honor roll” like the NewsHour does I think we’d be out of Iraq already (and Bush wouldn’t have won in 2004). How can you see that and not realize the pure and utter BS that is military recruiting strategies for the infantry.

  3. Actually our Canadian health care system was accidentally instituted when commies infiltrated the House of Commons in the sixties. Don’t worry. This brief divergence of Canadian from American policy has since been rectified.

    Seriously though, the CBC ran a docudrama, you might be into that. Be warned the CBC is pretty cheesey with that stuff and it did provoke a bit of controversy re accuracy when it aired.

  4. Bayman, I’m fairly certain that I saw that before I was dragged out of your country. Don’t knock the CBC dude, the Air Farce is the bomb!

  5. Actually, I’ve got a couple of pairs of Pradas, and they are the most comfortable, sturdy, and long-lasting shoes I have ever owned.

  6. Don’t stomp your little last season Prada shoes at me, honey.

  7. “Actually, I’ve got a couple of pairs of Pradas, and they are the most comfortable, sturdy, and long-lasting shoes I have ever owned.”

    Who are you and what have you done with PhysioProf??

Leave a Reply

