Why Not?

Abel Pharmboy suggested that I start a blog and I always do as I am told… Actually I’ve been thinking about doing this for awhile and decided why not.    I am a very junior tenure track faculty in pharmacology and neuroscience at a public institution in the Western United States.  

This blog will be a bit about science and the trials and tribulations of starting a lab, there’ll be a bit of politics (I’m down with the “O-man”) and a bit about fashion (yes, I said fashion — I almost bolted the science scene for fashion design in my younger days).    

First things first, some credit is due to the bloggers that got me into this.  Alex over at The Daily Transcript first got me interested in blogging for the purposes of talking about science. He continues to be my favorite place to see what is going on in the RNA world (which I dabble in a bit). The great DrugMonkey andPhysioprof have been giving incredible advice to us junior scientists for more than a year now and I owe them thanks for being pivotal in helping me in finding the right job and for providing a forum to talk about science, funding and the process of becoming independent. Finally, I’ve got to thank Abel Pharmboy for finally motivating me to get off my arse and start blogging. 

Hopefully we’ll have some fun here… and we’re off to a great start because UNC just won big!! GO HEALS!!

8 responses to “Why Not?

  1. Way to go, dude! Lay off the fucking fashion, though. You’re gonna make the rest of us look like a bunch of fucking mopes.

  2. Looking forward to following this blog JP.
    Also, do a big post on labcoat design and the latest in lab accessories maybe (Prada gloves, SharpsTainer by Gucci, Armani Isotope Shield, y’know whatever), just to piss off PhysioProf even more.

  3. Also, GO HEALS is a great cheer for the UNC med school.

  4. Excellent juniorprof!!!

    glad to see you’ve been sucked into the blogging vortex..

  5. For the record, this was the comment. I also see the DM seconded the recommendation.

    Why don’t I have the same power with my lab people. . .or my daughter?

    Just like you, I lurked and commented for awhile before taking the plunge. Congratulations and welcome, especially as a fellow pharmacologist.

    Love to hear about the fashion interests, too. We’re all scientists but the cool things are the other creative activities we bring to the table – for me, it illustrates to young trainees that you needn’t turn your back on your passion for music, designing, competitive sports, sculpting, etc., to be a scientist.

  6. Always nice to see a new SCIENCE blog. Welcome to teh BlagOsphere.

  7. Thanks for the motivation dudes. Hopefully all of you will continue to check in from time to time.

  8. Pingback: This is a desperation post « JUNIORPROF

Leave a Reply

