Pharm 551A: first day of class

Today was the first day of class for Pharm 551A. Not much to talk about other than a brief discussion of the construction of the class and expectations followed up by a quick run through of the basics of drug discovery to prep for the papers we’ll be doing over the next month. We’ll start the online continuation of paper discussion here after Thursday’s class.

If you’re coming over to check out the blog and are in the class here are some links to the pharma blogs I told you about this morning:
Derek Lowe’s In The Pipeline
Pharmalot
and another I forgot to mention: Pharma Conduct, although it may have gone dead because nothing has been posted in some time.

Also, here are some of my previous discussions on drug discovery on this blog, in case you’re interested:
Drug Discovery in Academia
Drug Discovery in Academia and NIH funding

Regular readers of my blog (DM and someone else I’m sure), this is the start of the incorporation of my class into the blog. Yes, its an experiment and, yes, the students agreed that it “might” be useful.

5 responses to “Pharm 551A: first day of class

  1. You are a braver person than I; I worry that my students would find confirmation that their professor is nuts by reading my blog.

    :-)

  2. My students probably don’t need confirmation that I am nuts.

  3. Dude, this is awesome. I’m totally following along. Especially excited for the GPCRs part (considering I’m up to my eyeballs dealing with them right now).

    But, why is your blog banner a turtle ass?

  4. Nat, I took that picture in Galapagos while snorkeling behind a sea turtle (actually I was chasing him). Everytime I see the picture it reminds of that wonderful trip so I figured I’d put on the front of my blog. Then again, maybe I have a thing for turtle asses.

Leave a Reply

